Obama Resigns From TUCC

The Huffingon Post

The Chicago Sun-Times Washington Bureau Chief Lynn Sweet has Obama’s remarks at a press conference in South Dakota on his decision to resign from Trinity United Church Of Christ In Chicago:

“I have to say–this is one I did not see coming,” said Obama. He said it has been months since he has been at the church, on Chicago’s South Side. “I did not anticipate my fairly conventional Christian faith being subjected to such…scrutiny.

Obama sent a letter to the church with his resignation on Sunday; Obama called the press conference after the letter leaked to veteran Chicago journalist Monroe Anderson, a contributor to Ebony and Jet. Otherwise, Obama said, he would have not made his resignation known at this time.

“My faith is not contingent on the particular church I belong to and I do not believe that I am going through a religious test,” he said.   More>>

 

~ by kstreet67 on June 1, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
